Forums

Go Back   Forums > Entertainment > Chatzone
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2007, 07:16 PM
ted ted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 55
Virus Warning??

:evil I have received this warning So "just in case" be warned!!!!!!

WORST VIRUS EVER --- CNN ANNOUNCED
PLEASE SEND THIS TO EVERYONE ON YOUR CONTACT LIST!!

A new virus has just been discovered that has been classified by Microsoft as the most destructive ever. This virus was discovered yesterday afternoon by McAfee . This virus simply destroys Sector Zero from the hard disk, where vital information for its functioning are stored.
This virus acts in the following manner:
It sends itself automatically to all contacts on your list with the title:
"A Card for You".

As soon as the supposed virtual card is opened the computer freezes so
That the user has to reboot. When the ctrl+alt+ del keys or the reset button are pressed, the virus destroys Sector Zero, thus permanently destroying the hard disk.Yesterday in just a few hours this virus caused panic in New York , according to news broadcast by CNN.
This alert was received by an employee of Microsoft itself.
So don't open any mails with subject: "A Virtual Card for You."
Attached Files
File Type: doc WORST VIRUS EVER.doc (25.0 KB, 28 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2007, 04:11 PM
Jacksback's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 153
This is taken from the Symantec website.

Please ignore any messages regarding this hoax and do not pass on messages. Passing on messages about the hoax only serves to further propagate it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2007, 06:20 PM
ted ted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 55
Question Hi Jacksback.

I haven,t a clue what a "symantec" website is????
I received this e-mail from a source in Lanzarote. If it is a hoax, what is the point? Thought it better to tell people just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2007, 07:28 PM
Jacksback's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 153
Symantec is the main anti virus site,, and no idea what the point is Ive often wondered myself??
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2007, 08:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cumbernauld near Glasgow
Posts: 36
I'm totally confused now so will just go unto a corner and sulk- at least that should keep me out of trouble!
Jojim:khu
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2007, 07:28 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Haria
Posts: 27
This is a fairly common hoax. You get the email and send it to your whole contact list as a "helpful" person. They each do the same, and within hours there are millions and millions of emails clogging up servers and slowing down the whole internet.

This particular one has been recieved by everybody who uses our server at least 5 times - and we're not a huge organisation!

If you ever receive this type of email, simply copy a section of it and paste it into Google. You'll quickly see if it's another hoax, and it always is!
__________________
Wind? Tide? Waves?
Come and see us at www.grupoestupendo.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2007, 07:29 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 154
I was also guilty of forwarding this but thanks to Tracey, Mike and Angie I have seen the error of my ways. :sry

http://www.symantec.com/security_res...610-99&tabid=2

Keith.
__________________



"Having a family is like having a bowling alley installed in your head."

-- Martin Mull.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:40 PM
ted ted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 55
Me too Madstock, apologies all round.I will go and stand in the corner facing the wall until I,m told to come out!!:peep
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-19-2007, 08:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Another good site is www.snopes.com - type in the keywords of the dogdy email and they will give you the lowdown - usually the email is a hoax that has been circulating for years. Still good to be careful until you're sure, though!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2007, 09:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Hello

This is the info displayed by Symantec.

PLease update your antivirus.

Jerry :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:04 PM.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.0.1 ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.